Outcomes Based Teaching and Accreditation
Speaker:Prof. Ira D. JACOBSON
Vice President and Professor of Aerospace Engineering (Retired)
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Date & Time:19 Nov 2013 (Tuesday) 10:30 - 12:00
Organized by:Faculty of Science and Technology


This seminar will outline the steps that are needed to develop and maintain outcomes based teaching and accreditation processes. It will cover the development of the appropriate questions, methods to determine the appropriate answers and the construction of a robust and sustainable process. An introduction to developing performance measures and benchmarks will be presented. The differences between subject-based outcomes and programme-based outcomes will be outlined and the need and advantage to programme based outcomes discussed. Alternative approaches to meet outcomes based criteria and methods to provide evidence that a programme meets the criteria will be discussed


Dr. Jacobson received his Bachelors degree in Aeronautics and Astronautics from New York University and his Masters and Doctorate degrees in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Virginia. He was employed by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration before joining the University of Virginia. Dr. Jacobson held numerous positions at the University of Virginia from 1965 through 1993, where he was a Professor of Aerospace Engineering. He served as the Director of the Albert Small Center for Computer Engineering and was one of the founding Directors of the Commonwealth of Virginia, Center for Innovative Technology. He also served as the Director of the University’s Information Technology and Communications Division. Dr. Jacobson was the Vice President of Academics at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University from 1993 through 2000. Dr. Jacobson founded MJ Systems, Inc. a company specializing in systems for the periodical distribution industry, providing computing solutions for wholesale distributors throughout North America.

Dr. Jacobson served as a member of the Board of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) and as the Chair of the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC). He was the Chair of the EAC Criteria Committee and played a major role in developing ABET outcomes based criteria. Dr. Jacobson served on the Board of Directors for the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and as the Vice-President of Education. Dr. Jacobson was also a member of the American Society for Engineering Education and the Society for Manufacturing Engineers and a member of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers Accreditation Board.

Dr. Jacobson is a fellow of ABET and of AIAA. He is the recipient of the Lee Atwood Award given jointly by the American Society of Engineering Education and the AIAA for outstanding contributions to aerospace education. He is a member of Tau Beta Pi, Sigma Gamma Tau, and Sigma Xi.