The Symposium on the Development of Mechanics in Macau in conjunction with the 5th Jiangsu-Hong Kong Forum on Mechanics and Its Application, and the 13th Annual Conference (2008-2009) of the Hong Kong Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (HKSTAM) was held on March 13-14, 2009 at the University of Hong Kong (HKU) and University of Macau (UM). The conference was jointly organized by the Jiangsu Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, Hong Kong Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics and the Faculty of Science and Technology of University of Macau.

This two-day event aimed at providing a platform for all scientists, engineers and mathematicians working on mechanics and related areas to share, communicate and exchange new results and ideas, and to enhance co-operations within relevant parties. A total of 49 abstracts were received, covering various research areas in solid and fluid mechanics, in which 10 of them were contributed and presented by members from the Faculty of Science and Technology of the University of Macau.

There were four invited distinguished lectures, which are delivered by Prof. M.K. Kwong of the Department of Applied Mathematics, Hong Kong Polytechnic University; Prof. Q. Ren of the Department of Engineering Mechanics, Hohai University; Prof. K.M. Mok of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Macau; and also Prof. C.T. Liu of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Hong Kong Polytechnic University.

First day of the conference included a distinguished lecture by Prof. M. K. Kwong and a welcome banquet, which were held at HKU. Second day of the conference was held at the University Library at UM. There was an opening addresses delivered by Prof. A. K. Soh (HKU), Prof. K. M. Mok (UM) and Prof. Q. Ren (Hohai Unviersity). There were six sessions, including parallel sessions, being held at both S. T. D. M. Auditorium and Auditorium II at the University Library at UM. More than 90 participates joined the two days event, including researchers from Mainland China, Macau, Hong Kong and Taiwan.